Academic Minors

The Academic Minors posted on this website have been approved by the University. Successful completion of a Minor will be noted on the student’s transcript upon graduation and must be completed at the time of graduation.

Students cannot obtain a Minor in their Major or other Majors as specified in the Minor posting. Students interested in a Minor should contact the Minor Coordinator listed below.  A plan of work should be developed and a copy filed with the student’s adviser as applicable.

A “Declare A Minor” form (click here) should be completed, signed by the Minor Coordinator, and submitted to Registration and Records so that the Minor will appear on the student’s degree audit.

To alter the Minor Contact Information, please click here.

Title Contact Name Contact Address
Accounting (20AM) 2150 Nelson Hall, 919.515.5565
pooleadvising@ncsu.edu
Africana Studies (16ASM) Craig Brookins 106 1911 Bldg., 919.515.6964,
craig_brookins@ncsu.edu
Agricultural and Environmental Technology (11AEM) S. Andrew Hale 108 Weaver Labs, 919.515.6760,
andy_hale@ncsu.edu
Agricultural Business Management (11AMM) Kendall Del Rio 3304A Nelson Hall, 919.515.7727,
khprice@ncsu.edu
Agroecology (11AGECM) Undergraduate Programs Office 2234 Williams Hall
919-515-5820
cropsoil-undergraduate-office@ncsu.edu
American Literature (16ALM) Allen Stein 121 Tompkins Hall, 919.515.4134,
stein@unity.ncsu.edu
Animal Science (11ANM) Melissa Merrill 342 Riddick Hall
919.515.3028
Melissa_Merrill@ncsu.edu
Anthropology (16AYM) Erin E. Seiling 334B 1911 Building,  919.515.3116,
eeseilin@ncsu.edu
Applied Ecology (11AECM) Dr. Martha Reiskind 126 David Clark Laboratory
martha_reiskind@ncsu.edu
Applied Sociology (11SAM) -No New Admits Erin Seiling 334B 1911 Bldg., 919.515.3116,
eeseilin@ncsu.edu 
Art and Design (12DNM) Hernan Marchant 406 Leazar Hall, 919.515.8316
hernan_marchant@ncsu.edu
Arts Entrepreneurship (24EMAM) Gary D. Beckman Campus Box 7311, 919.515.1637
gdbeckma@ncsu.edu
Arts Studies (16ARTM) Dr. Rodney Waschka 101B Winston Hall, 919.515.5464
rodney_waschka@ncsu.edu
Biological Sciences (17BLM) William C. Grant 2717 Bostian Hall, 919.515.3341,
bill_grant@ncsu.edu
Biomanufacturing (14BTECM) Winnell Newman 195 BTEC Bldg, Centennial Campus, 919.515.0213,winnell_newman@ncsu.edu
Biotechnology (11BIM) Sabrina Robertson
Robert M. Kelly
6104 Jordan Hall, 919.513.0330, sedought@ncsu.edu
Partners II Bldg., Room 3309, 919.515.6396, rmkelly@eos.ncsu.edu
Business Administration (20BMM) 2150 Nelson Hall , 919.515.5565
pooleadvising@ncsu.edu
Chemical Engineering (14CMM) Lisa Bullard 2012 Engineering Building I, 919.515.7455,
lisa_bullard@ncsu.edu
Chinese Studies (16CIM) Nathaniel Isaacson 208 Withers Hall, 919.515.0367,
nkisaacs@ncsu.edu
Classical Studies (16CSM) Gary Mathews Withers 227, 919-515-9306,
gary_m@ncsu.edu
Coaching Education (24CAM) Keith Howard 2046 Carmichael Gymnasium, 919.513.1547
keith_howard@ncsu.edu
Cognitive Science (16CNM) Catherine Driscoll 434-B Withers Hall, 919.513.7846,
catherine_driscoll@ncsu.edu
Computer Programming (14CPM) Barbara Adams 1204 Engineering Bldg II (COE II), 919.513.7888,
barbara_adams@ncsu.edu
Creative Writing (16CWM) Belle Boggs 278 Tompkins Hall, 919.515.3866,
bmboggs@ncsu.edu
Criminology (16CLM) Erin E. Seiling 334B 1911 Bldg., 919.515.3116,
eeseilin@ncsu.edu
Crop Science (11CSM) Undergraduate Programs Office 2234 Williams Hall
919-515-5820
cropsoil-undergraduate-office@ncsu.edu
Dance (24DANM) Beth Wright Fath

2020 Carmichael Gym, 919.513.1545,

beth_fath@ncsu.edu

Design Studies (12DSM) Hernán Marchant 200C Brooks Hall, 919.515.8316,
hernan_marchant@ncsu.edu
Economics (20ECM) 2150 Nelson Hall, 919.515.5565
pooleadvising@ncsu.edu
English (16ENGLM) Barbara Bennett 268 Tompkins, 919.515.4167,
barbara_bennett@ncsu.edu
Entomology (11ENM) John Meyer 2107 Gardner Hall, 919.515.1659,
john_meyer@ncsu.edu
Environmental Sciences (15EVM) William Winner 2231 Jordan Hall, 919.515.5780,
wewinner@ncsu.edu
Environmental Toxicology (17ETM) Seth Kullman 1211 Toxicology Building, 515.4378,
swkullma@ncsu.edu
Ethics (16ETHM) Dr. Timothy Hinton
Stephanie Wilson

456 Withers Hall, 919-513-7941, tim_hinton@ncsu.edu

Withers 340, 919-515-6100, stephanie_wilson@ncsu.edu

Extension Education (11EXTEDM) Mark Kistler 218 Ricks Hall, 919.515.1758,
mark_kistler@ncsu.edu
Feed Milling (11FEM) Dr. Adam Fahrenholz 234C Scott Hall, 919.515.5408,
Adam_Fahrenholz@ncsu.edu
Film Studies (16FSM) Dr. Ora Gelley 225 Tompkins Hall
ogelley@ncsu.edu
Fisheries Sciences (15FSCIM)-no new admits Dr. Lara Pacifici 3115 Jordan Hall, 919-515-3431
lara_pacifici@ncsu.edu
Fitness Leadership (24FLM) – no new admits Nita Horne 2019 Carmichael Gymnasium, 919.515.6382,
nita_horne@ncsu.edu
Food Science (11FDM) Dr. Keith Harris 116B Schaub Food Science Bldg., 919.513.2124,
keith_harris@ncsu.edu
Forensic Science (17FSCM) Dr. Ann Ross David Clark Labs 140, 919-515-3122
ahross@ncsu.edu
Forest Management (15FGM)  Dr. Richard Braham 3003 Biltmore Hall, 919-515-7568, richard_braham@ncsu.edu
French (16FRNCHM) Dudley Marchi 319 Withers Hall, 919.515.9283,
dmm@ncsu.edu
Furniture Manufacturing (14FUM) Russell King 126A Daniels Hall, 919.515.5186,
king@ncsu.edu
Genetics (17GNM) Betty Gardner 2526A Thomas Hall, 919.515.5776,
bgardner@ncsu.edu
Geology (17GM) Karl Wegmann 2123 Jordan Hall, 919.515.0380
kwwegman@ncsu.edu
German (16GRM) Lutz Kube 225 Withers, 919.515.9280,
lkube@ncsu.edu
Graphic Communications (13GCM) Brian Matthews 502-O Poe Hall, 919.515.1751,
bmatthe@ncsu.edu
Health (24HLTHM) Christopher S. Ousley 2040 Carmichael Gymnasium, 919.515.6868,
chris_ousley@ncsu.edu
Health, Medicine and Human Values (16HMM) Gary L. Comstock 458 Withers Hall Rm 458, 919.515.6173,
gcomstock@ncsu.edu
Healthcare Product Management (18HLTMGMTM) No New Admissions Kristen A. Thoney (Barletta) 3321 College of Textiles, 919.515.6514,
kristin_thoney@ncsu.edu
Hindi-Urdu (16HINDIM) Sujata S. Mody 417 Withers Hall, 919.515.9315,
ssmody@ncsu.edu
History (16HIM) Dean Bruno 265 Withers Hall, 919.513.2217,
dbruno@ncsu.edu
Horticultural Science (11HSM) Helen Kraus 114 Kilgore Hall, 919.515.1208,
Helen_Kraus@ncsu.edu
Industrial Engineering (14IEM) Paul H. Cohen Daniels Hall 400B, 919-513-2857
pcohen@ncsu.edu
International Studies (16ISM) Dr. Haddy Njie 107-C 1911 Bldg., 919.515.0448
hmnjie@ncsu.edu
Italian Studies (16ITM) Anna Rita Bonaduce-Dresler 222 Withers Hall, 919.515.9294,
arbonadu@ncsu.edu
Japan Studies (16JSM) John Mertz 402 Withers, 919.515.9297,
john_mertz@ncsu.edu
Japanese (16JPM) John Mertz 402 Withers, 919.515.9297,
john_mertz@ncsu.edu
Journalism (16JOM) Paul Isom 102 Tompkins Hall, 205-617-4400,
pcisom@ncsu.edu
Landscape Architecture (12LND) Gene Bressler 212 Brooks Hall, 919.515.8342,
gene_bressler@ncsu.edu
Law and Justice (16LJM) Shannon Carey 217 Caldwell Hall, 919.515.4469,
smcarey@social.chass.ncsu.edu
Leadership in Agriculture and Life Sciences (11AGLDM) David W.W. Jones 212 Ricks Hall, 919.513.2187,
dwjones@ncsu.edu
Leadership: Cross Disciplinary Perspectives (24SLC) Dr. Debbie Acker

PO Box 7401, 919.513.0148,

dlreno@ncsu.edu

Linguistics (16LIM) Dr. Jeffrey Reaser 285 Tompkins Hall, 919.515.4176,
jlreaser@ncsu.edu
Logic and Methodology (16LOGM) Dr. John W. Carroll 457 Withers Hall, 919-515-6140
carroll@ncsu.edu
Materials Science & Engineering (14MTM) Dr. Cheryl Cass 3002-B Engineering Building I, Centennial Campus, 919.515.2479
cheryl_cass@ncsu.edu
Mathematics (17MAM) Dr. Alina Duca 2108 SAS Hall, 919.513.2298,
Undergraduate_Mathematics@ncsu.edu
Meteorology (17MYM) Matt Parker 5149 Jordan Hall, 919.513.4367,
mdparker@ncsu.edu
Microbiology (17MBM) Jonathan Olson 4544B Thomas Hall, 919.515.7860
jwolson@ncsu.edu
Middle East Studies (16MLESTM) Jodi Stewart Khater 303 Harrelson Hall, 919.515.2509,
jskhater@ncsu.edu
Military Studies: Aerospace Studies (24MSASM) Lt. Col. Jeffry S. Onan Reynolds Coliseum Suite 137, 919.515.2417
jsonan@ncsu.edu
Military Studies: Military Science (24MSMSM) MAJ Andrew Sinden Reynolds Coliseum Room 151, 919.513.3500
aksinden@ncsu.edu
Military Studies: Naval Science (24MSNSM) LT Anthony Scalabrino Reynolds Coliseum Room 195C
atscalab@ncsu.edu
Music (24MUM) John A. Fuller 204 Price Music Center, 919.515.8284,
john_fuller@ncsu.edu
Nano-Science and Technology (14NSTM)

Mehmet C. Ozturk

Elena Nicolescu Veety

Monteith Engineering Res. Ctr. 322-C, 919.515.5245,
mco@ncsu.eduMonteith Engineering Res. Ctr. 449, 919.513. 0178,
enicole@ncsu.edu
Native American Studies (16NAMSTM) Dr. Judy Kertesz 369 Withers Hall, Campus Box 8108
919.513.2111
jkertes@ncsu.edu
Nonprofit Studies (16NPM) Christine Beal Howell Program Manager
5137 James B. Hunt Library, Centennial Campus, Box 7011
nonprofitminor@ncsu.edu
919.513.0596
Nonwovens (18NONWOVM) Pamela Banks-Lee 3328 Textile Complex, 919.515.6581,
pam_banks-lee@ncsu.edu
Nuclear Engineering (14NEM) J. Michael Doster 2107 Burlington Engineering Laboratories, 919.515.3658,
doster@ncsu.edu
Nutrition (11NTM) Dr. Natalie Cooke 218A Schaub Hall, 919.515.0287,
nkcooke@ncsu.edu
Outdoor Leadership (24OLM) Terry Dash 2009C Carmichael Gymnasium, 919.515.1392,
terry_dash@ncsu.edu
Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Management (15PRM) Candace Goode Vick 4004 Biltmore Hall, 919.513.3939,
candace_goode@ncsu.edu
Philosophy (16PHM) Dr. John W. Carroll  457 Withers Hall,
919-515-6140
john_carroll@ncsu.edu
Physics (17PYSM) Stephen Reynolds 400J Riddick Hall, 919.515.7751,
steve_reynolds@ncsu.edu
Plant Biology (11PBM) Chad V. Jordan 2214-A Gardner Hall, 919.515.2222,
chad_jordan@ncsu.edu
Political Science (16OSM) Shannon M. Carey 217 Caldwell, 919.515.4469,
smcarey2@ncsu.edu
Polymer and Color Chemistry (18PCCM) Renzo Shamey 3117 College of Textiles, 919.515.6546,
rshamey@ncsu.edu
Polymer Science (18POLYM) Renzo Shamey rshamey@ncsu.edu
3145 College of Textiles
919.515.6546
Portuguese Studies (16PORTM) Dr. Irwin Stern Withers Hall 223, Campus Box 8106
919.515.3297
istern@ncsu.edu
Poultry Science (11POM) Lynn Worley-Davis 919.515.6852
lwdavis@ncsu.edu
Psychology (16PCM)  Dr. Dana Kotter-Gruehn 639 Poe Hall,
919-513-4855
psych_advising@ncsu.edu
Pulp and Paper Technology (15PPM) John Heitmann 2111 Biltmore Hall, 919.515.7711,
john_heitmann@ncsu.edu
Religious Studies (16RSM) Dr. Jason C. Bivins 447 Withers, 919.515.6102,
jcbivins@ncsu.edu
Renewable Energy Assessment (15REAM) Dr. Elizabeth Guthrie Nichols Campus Box 8006
Room 2225 Jordan Addition
egnichol@ncsu.edu
919-513-4832
Russian Studies (16RUM) Vladimir Bilenkin 409 Withers, 919.515.9316,
vlad_bilenkin@ncsu.edu
Science, Technology, and Society (16STM) Dr. Matt Eisler 106C 1911 Building, 919.515.7999
mneisler@ncsu.edu
Social Work (16SWM) Paige Moore 205C 1911 Bldg., 919.513.7955,
plmoore2@ncsu.edu
Sociology (16SOM) Erin E. Seiling 334B 1911 Building, 919.515.3116,
eeseilin@ncsu.edu
Soil Science (11SSM) Undergraduate Programs Office 2234 Williams Hall
919-515-5820
cropsoil-undergraduate-office@ncsu.edu
Spanish (16SPM) Dr. Jim Michnowicz Withers Hall Campus Box 8106
919.513.9999
michnowicz@ncsu.edu
Sports Science (24SPSM) Darrin DeReu 2016-A Carmichael Gym
919.515.1057
dwdereu@ncsu.edu
Statistics (17STM) Spencer Muse 5276 SAS Hall,
919.515.1948,
muse@ncsu.edu
Sustainable Energy (24SEM) Gregory A. Wilson FYC Commons 201C, 919-515-3165
gawilso2@ncsu.edu
Sustainable Materials and Technology (15SMTM) Perry Peralta 1022 Biltmore Hall, 919.515.5731
perry_peralta@ncsu.edu
Technical and Scientific Communication (16TSM) Huiling Ding 131-C Tompkins
919-515-4120
hding@ncsu.edu
Technology, Engineering and Design Education (13TEM) Nolan Fahrer 510F Poe Hall, 919.515.1741,
nefahrer@ncsu.edu
Textile Technology (18TTM) George Hodge 3326 College of Textiles, 919.513.1636
george_hodge@ncsu.edu
Theatre (24THM) Mia Self 201 Thompson Hall, 919.515.3147,
mlself3@ncsu.edu
Tissue Engineering (14TISSEGRM) Lesley Hubbard Engineering Building 3, Room 4014, 919.515-6732
Lesley_hubbard@ncsu.edu
Turfgrass (11TFGM) Richard Cooper 1207 Williams Hall, 919.515.7600,
rich_cooper@ncsu.edu
Wetland Assessment (15WAM) Dr. Ryan Emanuel 2217 Jordan Hall, 919.513.2511,
ryan_emanuel@ncsu.edu
Wildlife Sciences (15WSCIM) Dr. Lara Pacifici 3115 Jordan Hall, 919.515.3431
lara_pacifici@ncsu.edu
Women’s and Gender Studies (16WGM) Dr. Karey Harwood 449 Withers Hall, 919.515. 6383, karey_harwood@ncsu.edu
Wood Products (15WPM) – No New Admits – See Sustainable Materials & Technology Minor Dr. Perry Peralta 1022 Biltmore Hall, 919.515.5731
perry_peralta@ncsu.edu
World Literature (16WLM) Larysa Mykyta 219 1911 Bldg., 919.515.9314,
lamfll@ncsu.edu
Zoology (17ZOM) Jenny Campbell 120 David Clark Labs, 919.513.7570,
jenny_campbell@ncsu.edu