Academic Minors

The academic minors posted on this website have been approved by the university. Successful completion of a minor will be noted on the student’s transcript upon graduation and must be completed at the time of graduation. Students cannot obtain a minor in their major or other majors as specified in the minor posting. Students interested in a minor should contact the minor coordinator listed below.  A plan of work should be developed and a copy filed with the student’s adviser as applicable. A “Declare A Minor” form (click here) should be completed, signed by the minor coordinator, and submitted to Registration and Records so that the minor will appear on the student’s degree audit. To alter the minor contact information, please click here.

Title Contact Name Contact Address
Accounting (20AM)   2150 Nelson Hall, 919.515.5565 pooleadvising@ncsu.edu
Africana Studies (16ASM) Stephen Ferguson Withers 446., 919.515.0306, scfergus@ncsu.edu
Agricultural and Environmental Technology (11AEM) S. Andrew Hale 108 Weaver Labs, 919.515.6760, andy_hale@ncsu.edu
Agricultural Business Management (11AMM) Dr. John S. Russ 3346 Nelson Hall, 919.515.4677, russ@ncsu.edu
Agroecology (11AGECM) Undergraduate Programs Office 2234 Williams Hall 919-515-5820 cropsoil-undergraduate-office@ncsu.edu
American Literature (16ALM) Allen Stein 121 Tompkins Hall, 919.515.4134, stein@unity.ncsu.edu
Animal Science (11ANM) Melissa Merrill 342 Riddick Hall 919.515.3028 Melissa_Merrill@ncsu.edu
Anthropology (16AYM) Erin E. Seiling 334B 1911 Building,  919.515.3116, eeseilin@ncsu.edu
Applied Ecology (11AECM) Dr. Martha Reiskind 126 David Clark Laboratory martha_reiskind@ncsu.edu
Applied Sociology (11SAM) -No New Admits Erin Seiling 334B 1911 Bldg., 919.515.3116, eeseilin@ncsu.edu 
Art and Design (12DNM) Kathleen Rieder 215B Brooks Hall, 919.515.2079, kathleen_rieder@ncsu.edu
Arts Entrepreneurship (24EMAM) Gary D. Beckman Campus Box 7311, 919.515.1637 gdbeckma@ncsu.edu
Arts Studies (16ARTM) Dr. Rodney Waschka 101B Winston Hall, 919.515.5464 rodney_waschka@ncsu.edu
Biological Sciences (17BLM) Kim Orlowski 2727 Bostian Hall, 919.515.3341, BioSciHelp@ncsu.edu
Biomanufacturing (14BTECM) Winnell Newman 195 BTEC Bldg, Centennial Campus, 919.515.0213,winnell_newman@ncsu.edu
Biotechnology (11BIM) Carlos Goller Robert M. Kelly 6102 Jordan Hall, 919.513.4135, ccgoller@ncsu.edu Partners II Bldg., Room 3309, 919.515.6396, rmkelly@eos.ncsu.edu
Business Administration (20BMM)   2150 Nelson Hall , 919.515.5565 pooleadvising@ncsu.edu
Business Entrepreneurship (20BEM)   2150 Nelson Hall 919.515.5565 pooleadvising@ncsu.edu
Chemical Engineering (14CMM) Lisa Bullard 2012 Engineering Building I, 919.515.7455, lisa_bullard@ncsu.edu
Chinese Studies (16CIM) Nathaniel Isaacson 208 Withers Hall, 919.515.0367, nkisaacs@ncsu.edu
Classical Studies (16CSM) Gary Mathews Withers 227, 919-515-9306, gary_m@ncsu.edu
Coaching Education (24CAM) Keith Howard 2046 Carmichael Gymnasium, 919.513.1547 keith_howard@ncsu.edu
Cognitive Science (16CNM) Catherine Driscoll 434-B Withers Hall, 919.513.7846, catherine_driscoll@ncsu.edu
Computer Programming (14CPM) ToniAnn Marini Daniels Hall 219-A, 919.515.7920, tamarini@ncsu.edu
Creative Writing (16CWM) Belle Boggs 278 Tompkins Hall, 919.515.3866, bmboggs@ncsu.edu
Criminology (16CLM) Erin E. Seiling 334B 1911 Bldg., 919.515.3116, eeseilin@ncsu.edu
Crop Science (11CSM) Undergraduate Programs Office 2234 Williams Hall 919-515-5820 cropsoil-undergraduate-office@ncsu.edu
Dance (24DANM) Autumn Belk 1309 Carmichael Gym, autumn_belk@ncsu.edu
No New Admissions Design Studies (12DSM) Kathleen Rieder 215B Brooks Hall, 919.515.2095, kathleen_rieder@ncsu.edu
Economics (20ECM)   2150 Nelson Hall, 919.515.5565 pooleadvising@ncsu.edu
English (16ENGLM) Barbara Bennett 268 Tompkins, 919.515.4167, barbara_bennett@ncsu.edu
Entomology (11ENM) David Orr 2104 Gardner Hall, 919.515.4684, dorr@ncsu.edu
Environmental Sciences (15EVM) Erin A. Champion 3136B Jordan Hall, 919.513.2520, eachampi@ncsu.edu
Environmental Toxicology (17ETM) Seth Kullman 1211 Toxicology Building, 515.4378, swkullma@ncsu.edu
Ethics (16ETHM) Dr. Timothy Hinton   456 Withers Hall, 919-513-7941, tim_hinton@ncsu.edu
Evolutionary Biology (17EVOM) Kim Orlowski Dr. Brian Langerhans Bostian Hall 2727, 919-515-3341, BioSciHelp@ncsu.edu David Clark Labs 246, 919-515-3314, langerhans@ncsu.edu
Extension Education (11EXTEDM) Joseph Donaldson 202 Ricks Hall, 919.515.1758, joseph_donaldson@ncsu.edu
Feed Milling (11FEM) Dr. Adam Fahrenholz 234C Scott Hall, 919.515.5408, Adam_Fahrenholz@ncsu.edu
Film Studies (16FSM) Dr. Marsha Gordon 257 Tompkins Hall, 919.515.4164 marsha_gordon@ncsu.edu
Fisheries Sciences (15FSCIM)-no new admits Dr. Lara Pacifici 3115 Jordan Hall, 919-515-3431 lara_pacifici@ncsu.edu
Fitness Leadership (24FLM) – no new admits Nita Horne 2019 Carmichael Gymnasium, 919.515.6382, nita_horne@ncsu.edu
Food Science (11FDM) Dr. Keith Harris 116B Schaub Food Science Bldg., 919.513.2124, keith_harris@ncsu.edu
Forensic Science (17FSCM) Kim Orlowski   Dr. Ann Ross Bostian Hall 2727, 919-515-3341, BioSciHelp@ncsu.edu David Clark Labs 140, 919-515-3122 ahross@ncsu.edu
Forest Management (15FGM)  Dr. Richard Braham 3003 Biltmore Hall, 919-515-7568, richard_braham@ncsu.edu
French (16FRNCHM) Scott Despain 302 Withers Hall, 919.513.1482, despain@ncsu.edu
Furniture Manufacturing (14FUM) Russell King 126A Daniels Hall, 919.515.5186, king@ncsu.edu
Genetics (17GNM) Betty Gardner 2526A Thomas Hall, 919.515.5776, bgardner@ncsu.edu
Geology (17GM) Karl Wegmann 2123 Jordan Hall, 919.515.0380 kwwegman@ncsu.edu
German (16GRM) Lutz Kube 225 Withers, 919.515.9280, lkube@ncsu.edu
Global Health (17GHM) Kim Orlowski Bostian Hall 2727, 919.515.3341, BioSciHelp@ncsu.edu
Effective Spring 2020: Global Leadership and Team Decision-Making Debbie Reno Acker 4100 Hunt Library, 919-513-0148 dlreno@ncsu.edu
Graphic Communications (13GCM) John Parks Newby
510-C Poe Hall, 919-515-1065
Health (24HLTHM) Christopher S. Ousley 2040 Carmichael Gymnasium, 919.515.6868, chris_ousley@ncsu.edu
Health, Medicine and Human Values (16HMM) Gary L. Comstock 458 Withers Hall Rm 458, 919.515.6173, gcomstock@ncsu.edu
Health Physics Minor (14HPM) Robert Hayes 2101 Burlington Engineering Laboratories, 919.515.2321, rbhayes@ncsu.edu
Hindi-Urdu (16HINDIM) Sujata S. Mody 417 Withers Hall, 919.515.9315, ssmody@ncsu.edu
History (16HIM) Dean Bruno 265 Withers Hall, 919.513.2217, dbruno@ncsu.edu
Horticultural Science (11HSM) Helen Kraus 114 Kilgore Hall, 919.515.1208, Helen_Kraus@ncsu.edu
Industrial Engineering (14IEM) Kanton Reynolds Daniels Hall 441B, 919-515-0605 kreynolds@ncsu.edu
International Studies (16ISM) Dr. Haddy Njie 107-C 1911 Bldg., 919.515.0448 hmnjie@ncsu.edu
Italian Studies (16ITM) Anna Rita Bonaduce-Dresler 222 Withers Hall, 919.515.9294, arbonadu@ncsu.edu
Japan Studies (16JSM) John Mertz 402 Withers, 919.515.9297, john_mertz@ncsu.edu
Japanese (16JPM) John Mertz 402 Withers, 919.515.9297, john_mertz@ncsu.edu
Jewish Studies (16JSTM) William Adler 443 Withers, 919.515.6334, William_Adler@ncsu.edu
Journalism (16JOM) Paul Isom 102 Tompkins Hall, 205-617-4400, pcisom@ncsu.edu
Landscape Architecture (12LND) Meg Calkins 215D Brooks Hall, 919.515.8342, mecalkin@ncsu.edu
Law and Justice (16LJM) Shannon Carey 217 Caldwell Hall, 919.515.4469, smcarey2@ncsu.edu
Leadership in Agriculture and Life Sciences (11AGLDM) Dr. Jackie Bruce 213 Ricks Hall, 919.515.8801, jackie_bruce@ncsu.edu
Leadership: Cross Disciplinary Perspectives (24SLC) Dr. Debbie Acker 4100 Hunt Library, 919.513.0148, dlreno@ncsu.edu
Linguistics (16LIM) Dr. Jeffrey Reaser 285 Tompkins Hall, 919.515.4176, jlreaser@ncsu.edu
Logic and Methodology (16LOGM) Kevin Richardson 457 Withers Hall, 919-515-6331 karicha6@ncsu.edu
Marine Science (17MRM) Dr. Carrie Thomas 4136 Jordan Hall, 919.515.7839, cjthomas@ncsu.edu
Materials Science & Engineering (14MTM) Dr. Cheryl Cass 3002-B Engineering Building I, Centennial Campus, 919.515.2479 cheryl_cass@ncsu.edu
Mathematics (17MAM) Dr. Alina Duca 2108 SAS Hall, 919.513.2298, Undergraduate_Mathematics@ncsu.edu
Meteorology (17MYM) Matt Parker 5149 Jordan Hall, 919.513.4367, mdparker@ncsu.edu
Microbiology (17MBM) Jonathan Olson 4544B Thomas Hall, 919.515.7860 jwolson@ncsu.edu
Middle East Studies (16MLESTM) Jodi Stewart Khater 303 Harrelson Hall, 919.515.2509, jskhater@ncsu.edu
Military Studies: Aerospace Studies (24MSASM) Lt. Col John J. Dumont III Reynolds Coliseum Suite 137, 919.515.2417 jjdumont@ncsu.edu
Military Studies: Military Science (24MSMSM) MAJ Andrew Sinden Reynolds Coliseum Room 151, 919.513.3500 aksinden@ncsu.edu
Military Studies: Naval Science (24MSNSM) John Watson Reynolds Coliseum Room 195C jdwatso6@ncsu.edu
Music (24MUM) Daniel Monek 203 Price Music Center, 919.515.1692, dgmonek@ncsu.edu
Nano-Science and Technology (14NSTM) Mehmet C. Ozturk Elena Nicolescu Veety Monteith Engineering Res. Ctr. 322-C, 919.515.5245, mco@ncsu.eduMonteith Engineering Res. Ctr. 449, 919.513. 0178, enicole@ncsu.edu
Native American Studies (16NAMSTM) Dr. Judy Kertesz 369 Withers Hall, Campus Box 8108 919.513.2111 jkertes@ncsu.edu
Nonprofit Studies (16NPM)   Program Manager 5137 James B. Hunt Library, Centennial Campus, Box 7011 nonprofitminor@ncsu.edu 919.513.0596
Nonwovens (18NONWOVM)  *Admissions on Hold Pamela Banks-Lee 3328 Textile Complex, 919.515.6581, pam_banks-lee@ncsu.edu
Nuclear Engineering (14NEM) J. Michael Doster 2107 Burlington Engineering Laboratories, 919.515.3658, doster@ncsu.edu
Nutrition (11NTM) Dr. Natalie Cooke 218A Schaub Hall, 919.515.0287, nkcooke@ncsu.edu
Outdoor Leadership (24OLM) Terry Dash 2009C Carmichael Gymnasium, 919.515.1392, terry_dash@ncsu.edu
Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Management (15PRM) Dr. Kim Bush 4012F Biltmore Hall, 919.515.3688, kabush@ncsu.edu
Philosophy (16PHM) Dr. John W. Carroll  457 Withers Hall, 919-515-6140 john_carroll@ncsu.edu
Physics (17PYSM) Stephen Reynolds 400J Riddick Hall, 919.515.7751, steve_reynolds@ncsu.edu
Plant Biology (11PBM) Chad V. Jordan 2214-A Gardner Hall, 919.515.2222, chad_jordan@ncsu.edu
Political Science (16OSM) Shannon M. Carey 217 Caldwell, 919.515.4469, smcarey2@ncsu.edu
Polymer and Color Chemistry (18PCCM) Renzo Shamey 3117 College of Textiles, 919.515.6546, rshamey@ncsu.edu
Polymer Science (18POLYM) Renzo Shamey rshamey@ncsu.edu 3145 College of Textiles 919.515.6546
Portuguese Studies (16PORTM) Dr. Irwin Stern Withers Hall 223, Campus Box 8106 919.515.3297 istern@ncsu.edu
Poultry Science (11POM) Lynn Worley-Davis 919.515.6852 lwdavis@ncsu.edu
Psychology (16PCM)  Dr. Dana Kotter-Gruehn 639 Poe Hall, 919-513-4855 psych_advising@ncsu.edu
Pulp and Paper Technology (15PPM) John Heitmann 2111 Biltmore Hall, 919.515.7711, john_heitmann@ncsu.edu
Religious Studies (16RSM) Dr. Jason C. Bivins 447 Withers, 919.515.6102, jcbivins@ncsu.edu
Renewable Energy Assessment (15REAM) Dr. Elizabeth Guthrie Nichols Campus Box 8006 Room 2225 Jordan Addition egnichol@ncsu.edu 919-513-4832
Russian Studies (16RUM) Vladimir Bilenkin 409 Withers, 919.515.9316, vlad_bilenkin@ncsu.edu
Science, Technology, and Society (16STM) Dr. Matthew Booker 106A 1911 Building, 919.513.1431 mmbooker@ncsu.edu
Social Work (16SWM) Suzy Lamb 1911 Building, Room 205C, 919.513.7955, sslamb@ncsu.edu
Sociology (16SOM) Erin E. Seiling 334B 1911 Building, 919.515.3116, eeseilin@ncsu.edu
Soil Science (11SSM) Undergraduate Programs Office 2234 Williams Hall 919-515-5820 cropsoil-undergraduate-office@ncsu.edu
Spanish (16SPM) Dr. Jim Michnowicz Withers Hall Campus Box 8106 919.513.9999 michnowicz@ncsu.edu
Sports Science (24SPSM) Darrin DeReu 2016-A Carmichael Gym 919.515.1057 dwdereu@ncsu.edu
Statistics (17STM) Dana Derosier 5268 SAS Hall, 919.515.1951, dana_derosier@ncsu.edu
Sustainable Energy (15SEM) (No new admits) Jordan Kern Jordan Hall Addition 2225, Box 8008, 919-515-3617, jkern@ncsu.edu
Sustainable Materials and Technology (15SMTM) Perry Peralta 1022 Biltmore Hall, 919.515.5731 perry_peralta@ncsu.edu
Teaching English as a Foreign Language (16TEFLM) Jillian S. Haeseler 325 Withers Hall, 919.515.9299
Technical and Scientific Communication (16TSM) Huiling Ding 131-C Tompkins 919-515-4120 hding@ncsu.edu
Technology, Engineering and Design Education (13TEM) Nolan Fahrer 510F Poe Hall, 919.515.1741, nefahrer@ncsu.edu
Textile Technology (18TTM) George Hodge 3324 College of Textiles, 919.513.1636 george_hodge@ncsu.edu
Theatre (24THM) Mia Self 201 Thompson Hall, 919.515.3147, mlself3@ncsu.edu
Tissue Engineering (14TISSEGRM) Lesley Hubbard Engineering Building 3, Room 4014, 919.515-6732 Lesley_hubbard@ncsu.edu
Turfgrass (11TFGM) Crop & Soil Sciences Department 2234 Williams Hall, 919-515-5820, cropsoil-undergraduate-office@ncsu.edu
Wetland Assessment (15WAM) Dr. Ryan Emanuel 2217 Jordan Hall, 919.513.2511, ryan_emanuel@ncsu.edu
Wildlife Sciences (15WSCIM) Dr. Lara Pacifici 3115 Jordan Hall, 919.515.3431 lara_pacifici@ncsu.edu
Women’s and Gender Studies (16WGM) Dr. Karey Harwood 449 Withers Hall, 919.515. 6383, karey_harwood@ncsu.edu
Wood Products (15WPM) – No New Admits – See Sustainable Materials & Technology Minor Dr. Perry Peralta 1022 Biltmore Hall, 919.515.5731 perry_peralta@ncsu.edu
World Literature (16WLM) Dr. Meredith Fosque 418 Withers, 919.513.7034, mgfosque@ncsu.edu
Zoology (17ZOM) Jenny Campbell 120 David Clark Labs, 919.513.7570, jenny_campbell@ncsu.edu